View from the Ulmer Hütte on St. Christoph
View from the Ulmer Hütte on St. Christoph

With 1,765 meters above the sealevel the winter resort of St. Christoph is among the highest located ski resorts in Austria. It lies directly on the border of Vorarlberg at the Arlberg pass and just 500 meters above St. Anton.

Although St. Christoph is a pure holiday resort today, it has a long history that goes back at least to the 14th century. Here you will find the Hospice St. Christoph which served as a shelter for travelers protecting them of the vagaries of the weather.

Consisting of only 25 buildings St. Christoph is not very large. Thus, it is inversely proportional to the skiing opportunities, because these are huge:

41 F
Weather Sankt Christoph
Temperature (day/night)41 / 37 F
Prec. prob. (day/night)70 % / 70 %
32F in alt.2,000 m
Sun hours0 h

Skiing in St. Christoph

St. Christopher is part of the cross-border cooperation of the Arlberg ski resorts and thus also a part of Ski Arlberg. Considering the location with it's certainty for snow it does not come as a surprise that the state-certified ski instructors and trainers are trained here.

Lifts in St. Christoph

Terrain Profile
Schlepplift St. Christoph Geschlossen
Length485 m
Height1.767 - 1.861 m
Diff95 m
Fullscreen
Terrain Profile
Schlepplift St. Christoph Geschlossen
Length486 m
Height1.767 - 1.862 m
Diff96 m
Fullscreen
Terrain Profile
Seilbahn St. Christoph Geschlossen
Length996 m
Height1.777 - 2.167 m
Diff389 m
Fullscreen
Terrain Profile
Schlepplift St. Christoph Geschlossen
Length103 m
Height1.768 - 1.777 m
Diff9 m
Fullscreen

Ski History Was Written Here

At least a little fraction of it: On January 3rd in 1901 St. Christoph contributed to ski history: Sealed on a tablecloth the first Austrian ski club was founded here. Among the founders was Hannes Schneider, who was the inventor of the Arlberg technique.


Helpful?

Blick von der Ulmer Hütte auf St. Christoph
Blick von der Ulmer Hütte auf St. Christoph

Der Wintersportort St. Christoph am Arlberg ist mit knapp 1.765 m einer der höchstgelegenen Skiorte Österreichs. Er liegt direkt an der Grenze zu Vorarlberg unterhalb des Arlbergpasses und knapp 500 Meter oberhalb von St. Anton.

Obwohl sich St. Christoph heute als reiner Urlaubsort darstellt, hat er eine lange Geschichte, die mindestens bis ins 14. Jahrhundert zurückreicht. Hier befindet sich das Hospiz St. Christoph, das lange dem Schutz der Reisenden vor den Kapriolen des Wetters, die über den Arlbergpass wollten, diente.

St. Christoph ist nicht sehr groß, denn es besteht gerade mal aus 25 Häusern. Damit verhält es sich umgekehrt proportional zu den Skimöglichkeiten, denn die sind riesig:

18 °C
Wetter Sankt Christoph
Temperatur (Tag/Nacht)18 / 6 °C
Niederschlagswahrsch.0 % / 0 %
0°C Grenze3.300 m
Sonnenstunden8 h

Skifahren in St. Christoph

St. Christoph ist Teil der grenzübergreifenden Kooperation der arlberger Wintersportorte und somit auch ein Teil von Ski Arlberg. Und auch nicht ganz zufällig werden hier die staatlich geprüften Skilehrer und -Trainer ausgebildet.

Liftanlagen in St. Christoph

Höhenprofil
Schlepplift St. Christoph Geschlossen
Länge485 m
Höhe1.767 - 1.861 m
Diff95 m
Fullscreen
Höhenprofil
Schlepplift St. Christoph Geschlossen
Länge486 m
Höhe1.767 - 1.862 m
Diff96 m
Fullscreen
Höhenprofil
Seilbahn St. Christoph Geschlossen
Länge996 m
Höhe1.777 - 2.167 m
Diff389 m
Fullscreen
Höhenprofil
Schlepplift St. Christoph Geschlossen
Länge103 m
Höhe1.768 - 1.777 m
Diff9 m
Fullscreen

Erster Skiclub Österreichs Skiclub Arlberg

Skiclub Arlberg St. Christoph

"Durch die Natur entzückt, durch den Sport begeistert": Am 3. Jänner 1901 wurde hier Skigeschichte geschrieben. Und zwar auf einem Tischtuch. Darauf verewigten sich die Gründer des ersten österreichischen Skiclubs, des Schiclubs Arlberg. Unter ihnen auch Hannes Schneider, der Erfinder der Arlberg Technik (der Vorläufertechnik des Parallelschwungs).

Der Skiclub Arlberg hat 8.049 Mitglieder aus 61 Ländern. Sie genießen gewisse Vorteile und dürfen auch an den beliebten Rennen des Skiclubs Arlberg teilnehmen.



Hilfreich?